Duncan Wins Round 1 of Chicago Invitational

By: Heather Croze
January 09, 2016

Douglas Duncan rides Hy Test for 87.25 points at Allstate Arena. Photo by Andy Watson /

Douglas Duncan rides Hy Test for 87.25 points at Allstate Arena. Photo by Andy Watson /

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Douglas Duncan (Alvin, Texas) was the first rider out on Saturday night and rode Hy Test (Jared Allen’s Pro Bull Team) for 87.25 points to take Round 1 of the Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series Chicago Invitational in front of a near-capacity crowd of 8,777 fans at Allstate Arena.

With his first round win since April 2015, Duncan earned 100 points towards the PBR world standings.

Bonner Bolton (Gardendale, Texas) is in second place after riding Redneck (Cantankerous LLC) for 87-points to earn 60 points toward the world standings, while Wallace de Oliveira (Goiania, Brazil) took third with an 86.75-point ride on Ram It (K-C/Josey McElroy Bucking Bulls/Spark-lin Acres) for 50 world points. 2004 PBR World Champion Mike Lee (Decatur, Texas) sits in fourth place after riding Strong Heart (Dakota Rodeo/Berger/Struve) for 86.75 points as he picked up 40 world standings points.

In fifth place, Cody Heffernan (Singleton, Australia) rode McIntyre Transports Back Jackin to 85.25 points as the Australian earned 30 world points. Sixth place went to three-time World Champion Silvano Alves (Pilar do Sul) as he put up 84.5 points on Imagine That (Jeff Robinson Bucking Bulls) for 15 world points. Aaron Roy (Asquitch, Canada) finished seventh with five world points as he rode Ruff’em Up Tuck (Jeff Robinson Bucking Bulls) to a score of 84.25 points.

Reigning World Champion J.B. Mauney (Mooresville, North Carolina) tried to give himself a Happy Birthday present with his first ride of 2016, but Wipeout (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve/H&C Bucking Bulls) had other plans and tossed Mauney in 7.39 seconds.

Round 2 will begin at 2 p.m. on Sunday. Tickets are available at, and by telephone at (800) 745-3000. Round 2, as well as the Built Ford Tough Championship Round, will be broadcast Sunday at 8 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network. Fans can also watch all of the action live via PBR LIVE at

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

The Chicago Invitational is the opening event on the 2016 PBR Built Ford Tough Series schedule. The season will consist of 26 stops, traveling to cities such as New York, Anaheim, Calif., and Dallas. It will climax with the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Nov. 2-6 at the new Las Vegas Arena when the 2016 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most world standings points during the season, will receive the coveted World Championship belt buckle and $1 million bonus.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Chicago Invitational
Allstate Arena in Rosemont, Illinois
Event Leaders (Round 1-Total Points-Event Points)

1. Douglas Duncan, 87.25-87.25-100 Points.
2. Bonner Bolton, 87-87.00-60 Points.
3. Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 86.75-86.75-50 Points.
4. Mike Lee, 86-86.00-40 Points.
5. Cody Heffernan, 85.25-85.25-30 Points.
6. Silvano Alves, 84.5-84.50-15 Points.
7. Aaron Roy, 84.25-84.25-5 Points.
8. Ryan Dirteater, 83.75-83.75
9. Valdiron de Oliveira, 83-83.00
(tie). Joao Ricardo Vieira, 83-83.00
11. Justin Paton, 82.75-82.75
(tie). Gage Gay, 82.75-82.75
(tie). Michael Lane, 82.75-82.75
14. Shane Proctor, 81.25-81.25
15. Nathan Schaper, 81-81.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0.00
Mason Lowe, 0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0.00
Tyler Harr, 0-0.00
Robson Palermo, 0-0.00
Robson Aragao, 0-0.00
J.B. Mauney, 0-0.00
Emilio Resende, 0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0.00
Ben Jones, 0-0.00
Markus Mariluch, 0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0.00
J.W. Harris, 0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0.00
Reese Cates, 0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0.00

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.