For the Record: Omak

Although 2018 marks the 85th anniversary of the Omak (Wash.) Stampede, its PRCA record book begins in 1951.

Since, many of the biggest names in professional rodeo have competed at this iconic Northwestern rodeo but only the best left their mark by setting an Omak Stampede record.

Cowboys have until Aug. 12 to win their share of the Omak prize money and possibly set an Omak Stampede record. Omak’s biggest payout was $127,210 in 2010.

Josh Peek set the rodeo record for the most money won in all-around with $5,060 in 2011.

Bareback rider Larry Sandvick set the rodeo record of 90 points in 1996.

Steer wrestler Pat Nogle set two records in 1987. First, he made a 3.1-second run, which led him to also set the two-head average record of 7.2 seconds.

Two sets of team ropers set records in 2010. Colby Siddoway and Justin Wade Davis made a 3.9-second run, and Kevin Daniel and Caleb Twisselman were 9.6 seconds on two head.

Saddle bronc rider Glen O’Neill set the rodeo record of 91 points in 2000.

Tie-down roper Joe Beaver set the Omak Stampede record of 7.3 seconds in 1994. Two tie-down ropers share the two-head average record of 16.5 seconds. Fred Whitfield set the record in 1994 and Monty Lewis made the same time in 2006.

Barrel racer Molly Powell set the rodeo record with a 16.22-second run in 2012.

Bull rider Vince Stanton set the Omak Stampede record of 94 points in 1999.

Courtesy of PRCA