Game notes: Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy V

By: Jordan Marie Johnson February 28, 2014@ 10:30:00 AM

The Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy V gets underway on Saturday night in Arlington, Texas. Photo by Andy Watson /

HIGH FIVE – This is the fifth consecutive year that AT&T Stadium has hosted the Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy V. It’s the ninth stop on the 2014 Built Ford Tough Series and the only stop in Texas this season. The Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy V will begin with a one-hour, pre-event concert by Justin Moore at 6 p.m. on Saturday, March 1.

ON DECK – The BFTS heads to Arizona next week for the Bass Pro Chute Out. The PBR will buck bulls at the US Airways Center in Phoenix, Ariz., beginning at 8 p.m. PT on Saturday, March 8, and at 2:50 p.m. PT on Sunday, March 9.

PAST IRON COWBOY EVENT WINNERS – After two years of finishing as runner-up to the Iron Cowboy winners, Austin Meier was successful on his third attempt and was crowned Iron Cowboy IV last season. Here is a complete list of past winners in Arlington:

2013    Austin Meier
2012    J.B. Mauney
2011    Colby Yates
2010    Valdiron de Oliveira

FORMAT – This event is the only single elimination format event on the PBR’s 2014 Built Ford Tough Series. The Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy V pits the Top 24 riders against each other in an 8-second duel as they ride the series’ best bulls. The riders will compete in a bracket-style format where the rider with the highest score – or the longest riding time in the event both riders fail to make a qualified ride – advances. Riders will receive $1,000 for each qualified ride.

FIVE-TIME PARTICIPANTS – Five of the 24 riders have competed in every Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy events – L.J. JenkinsGuilherme Marchi, J.B. Mauney, Valdiron de Oliveira and Sean Willingham.

FOUR-TIME PARTICIPANTS – Three of the 24 riders have competed in four Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy events – Silvano AlvesMike Lee and Cody Nance.

THREE-TIME PARTICIPANTS – Four of the 24 riders have competed in three Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy events – Ryan DirteaterMarco EguchiTy Pozzobon and Stormy Wing.

TWO-TIME PARTICIPANTS – Five of the 24 riders are back for their second Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy appearance – Reese CatesEduardo Aparecido,Chase OutlawRobson Palermo and Fabiano Vieira.

FIRST-TIME PARTICIPANTS – Seven of the 24 riders are participating in their first Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy appearance – Gage GayKasey Hayes,Zane LambertLachlan RichardsonBilly RobinsonMatt Triplett andJoao Ricardo Vieira.

POSSIBLE POINTS – There are 1,000 possible points available in Arlington as the winner of each round will receive 100 points plus the ride score.

PROVIDING PROTECTION – The Dickies® Bullfighters this weekend are Jesse Byrne of Okotoks, Alberta; Shorty Gorham of Cotulla, Texas; and Frank Newsom of Paoli, Okla.

TELEVISION BROADCAST – PBR LIVE will broadcast the Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy V at 7 p.m. CT on Saturday, March 1.

Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy V will be broadcast in two segments, starting Saturday, March 1, at 8 p.m. ET live on CBS Sports Network and finishing on Sunday, March 2, on CBS at 1 p.m. ET.

Saturday’s broadcast will have Craig Hummer providing play-by-play, color commentary from Ty Murray, a behind the chutes view from J.W. Hart and Justin McBride, and dirt-level interviews will be handled by Leah Garcia.

BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR by David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer and creative lead.

Click HERE for the rest of this weekend’s game notes.


© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.