Nominees Announced for PRCA Year-End Awards

by Amy Fast | Sep 15, 2014

The top five nominees for the 11 categories of PRCA Year-End Awards have been announced. The ballots were mailed Sept. 12, and the winners will be announced at the annual banquet held during the PRCA National Convention on Dec. 3.

Dusty Tuckness is going for his fifth Bullfighter of the Year Award, which would break the record he shares with ProRodeo Hall of Famer Joe Baumgartner (2004-07). Due to a tie between two nominees, there are five other men competing with Tuckness: Kenny Bergeron, Aaron Ferguson, Darran Robertson, Cory Wall (2009 winner) and Cody Webster.

In the PRCA Stock Contractor of the Year category, Stace Smith will be looking for his 11th consecutive win, which would tie Harry Vold (1982, 1987-96) for the most wins of all time.

After winning the award in 2013, Smith is currently tied with Vold for most consecutive wins, with 10. The four other nominees up for the award are Andrews Rodeo Inc., Beutler & Son Rodeo Co., Frontier Rodeo Company and Pete Carr Pro Rodeo.
Other categories and nominees include:

Wayne Brooks
Randy Corley
Mike Mathis
Boyd Polhamus
Andy Stewart

Linda Alsbaugh
Sunni Deb Backstrom
Amanda Corley-Sanders
Sandy Gwatney
Haley Schneeberger

Dress Act of the Year
Rider Kiesner
Anthony Lucia
Jerry Wayne Olson
One Arm Bandit – Amanda and John Payne
Riata Ranch Cowboy Girls – Jennifer Nicholson, Brandi Phillips

Comedy Act of the Year
John Harrison
Keith Isley
Troy Lerwill
Gizmo McCracken
Mark Swingler

Clown of the Year
John Harrison
Keith Isley
Troy Lerwill
Justin Rumford
Cody Sosebee

Small Rodeo of the Year
Cave Creek, Ariz.
Claremore, Okla.
Goliad, Texas
Huntsville, Texas
Winnsboro, La.

Medium Rodeo of the Year
Amarillo, Texas
Coleman, Texas
Deadwood, S.D.
Estes Park, Colo.
Weatherford, Texas

Large Outdoor Rodeo of the Year
Cheyenne, Wyo.
Lovington, N.M.
Ogden, Utah
Pendleton, Ore.
Salinas, Calif.

Large Indoor Rodeo of the Year
Denver, Colo.
Fort Worth, Texas
Jackson, Miss.
Rapid City, S.D.
San Antonio, Texas

Courtesy of PRCA