Pacheco Clinches PBR Rookie of the Year Title

LAS VEGAS – With his 81.75-point ride on Born Sinner (Martinez Bucking Bulls), Kaique Pacheco (Sao Paolo, Brazil) clinched the PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) 2015 Rookie of the Year honors during the second round of the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals on Thursday evening at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas.

Pacheco is the PBR’s top rookie with 3,782.5 points, 1,907.5 points ahead of fellow rookie, Cooper Davis (Jasper, Texas).

Bonner Bolton (Gardendale, Texas) earned the Round 2 win with the only 90-point score of the night, tallying 90.5 points aboard Walk Off (Jeff Robinson Bucking Bulls). It’s his first 90-point ride on the Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS).

“I watched the PBR World Finals on TV as a kid and this is like a dream come true having the kind of ride I did tonight, achieving my first 90-point ride,” Bolton said. “Think it, dream it, believe it and go out to get it.”

Tanner Byrne (Prince Albert, Saskatchewan) and Gage Gay (Staley, North Carolina) tied for second in Round 2 with each notching an 88.25-point ride. Byrne rode Who Dey (K-C/Josey McElroy Bucking Bulls/Spark-lin Acres) and Gay rode Sasquatch (BMC Bucking Bulls/Jeff Robinson) as each earned 110 world standings points.

Fourth place went to Davis, who earned 80 world standings points after covering Cowboy’s Dance Hall’s Panda Trax (JD Nix Rodeo Co.). Reigning PBR World Champion Silvano Alves (Pilar do Sol, Brazil) picked up his first ride of the event with 86.5 points on Big Benny (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve/Julie Rosen) to finish fifth, earning 60 world standings points.

Despite not covering his bull on Thursday, J.B. Mauney still holds a commanding lead in the PBR world standings with 5,305 points —1,515 ahead of No. 2 Joao Ricardo Vieira (Itatinga, Sao Paulo) and 1,522.5 points ahead of Pacheco.

As one of seven bulls vying for the PBR World Champion Bull title, Air Time (Jared Allen’s Pro Bull Team) earned top honors Thursday night with a 47-point bull score after bucking off Renato Nunes (Buritama, Brazil) in 5.84 seconds.

Thursday was also the PBR’s Pink Night, featuring the Pink Night Buckathon. In addition to the riders and PBR staff donning pink, Ben Jones (Goulburn, Australia) had the opportunity to get on the $5,000 Breast Cancer Bounty Bull for a chance to win $2,500 for himself, and $2,500 for the Breast Cancer Research Foundation (BCRF) with a qualified ride. Although Jones did not cover the bull, the PBR still donated $250 for every qualified ride and $1,000 for every 90-point ride to the BCRF in support of the PBR’s Pink Promise. Wrangler and MGM Worldwide matched these donations. After just more than one month, the PBR, Wrangler and MGM Resorts Worldwide donated $50,000 to BCRF.

The PBR’s 22nd race for the $1 million PBR World Championship continues Friday night at 6 p.m. PT, at Las Vegas’ Thomas & Mack Center

CBS Sports Network will broadcast every round live at 8:30 p.m. ET, Wednesday-Saturday and then at 3:30 p.m. on Sunday, including the World Finals pre-show live from the Thomas & Mack Plaza at 8:30 p.m. ET.

For more information on the World Finals, please visit

2015 Built Ford Tough World Finals

Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2- Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. J.B. Mauney, 91-0-91.00-200 Points.

(tie). Cooper Davis, 89-88-177.00-200 Points.

(tie). Bonner Bolton, 73.25-90.5-0-163.75-200 Points.

4. Gage Gay, 0-88.25-110 Points.

(tie). Tanner Byrne, 0-88.25-88.25-110 Points.

6. Fabiano Vieira, 86.75-0-86.75-100 Points.

7. Mason Lowe, 85.5-0-85.50-80 Points.

8. Silvano Alves, 0-87.25-87.25-60 Points.

9. Cody Nance, 84.75-0-84.75-30 Points.

(tie). Lachlan Richardson, 84.75-0-84.75-30 Points.

11. Michael Lane, 0-86.5-86.50

12. Stormy Wing, 0-85.5-85.50

13. Chase Outlaw, 84-0-84.00

14. Kaique Pacheco, 0-81.75-81.75

15. Nathan Schaper, 0-74-74.00

Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0.00

Matt Triplett, 0-0-0-0.00

J.W. Harris, 0-0-0.00

Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0.00

Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0.00

Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0.00

Reese Cates, 0-0-0.00

Mike Lee, 0-0-0.00

Shane Proctor, 0-0-0.00

Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0-0.00

Ben Jones, 0-0-0.00

Robson Aragao, 0-0-0.00

Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0.00

Renato Nunes, 0-0-0.00

Aaron Roy, 0-0-0.00

Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0.00

Kasey Hayes, 0-0-0.00

Brady Sims, 0-0-0.00

Robson Palermo, 0-0-0.00

Alexandre Cardozo, 0-0-0.00

Douglas Duncan, 0-0-0.00

Dave Mason, 0-0-0.00

Neil Holmes, 0-0-0.00

Luis Blanco, 0-0-0.00

Justin Paton, 0-0-0.00

Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0.00

© 2015 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.