Brooke Wills’ Dream Month

Regina, Saskatchewan – It’s been an amazing month (actually 34 days) for barrel racer, Brooke Wills.

The Kamloops, BC cowgirl followed up her Canadian Championship title and $35,640 in CFR earnings with an equally impressive win at the inaugural Maple Leaf Circuit Finals at Canadian Western Agribition in Regina, SK. Wills and her eight year old mare, Fames to Blame (Famey), won two of the four go-rounds at the Brandt Centre and finished second in the other two to capture the aggregate title and $6803.65 – the largest paycheque of the Finals.

“The last month has been incredible,” Wills acknowledged. “The win here in Regina, the awesome way the competitors were treated and qualfying for Kissimmee, FL (the RAM National Circuit Finals) capped off this dream month we’ve had.” Wills also made the point, “And the money we won here gives us a really nice head start for the 2020 rodeo season.”

Wills was confident in her mare heading into the Circuit Finals. “I didn’t run her between Red Deer and Regina and I figured she might need one run to really get going here. She just loves her job and loves to win and gets stronger at these multiple-run events.”

Wills was especially impressed with the overall production at the Finals. “The people in Regina ran the rodeo great, they were very professional and it was cool to see all those fans in the stands.”

The 24 year old’s outstanding performance wasn’t the only one that highlighted the $149,678 Regina-based Finals. Carbon, AB bareback rider Cole Goodine won three go-rounds en route to his Maple Leaf Circuit Finals aggregate title and the second-highest payout of $6123.20. Other Champions included Kolby Wanchuk, Sherwood Park, AB, in the bronc riding with $5612.93; 5 time Canadian Steer Wrestling Champion Cody Cassidy from Donalda, AB ($5442.85); Glentworth, SK tie-down roper Jesse Popescul and Dawson Creek, BC bull rider Jacob Gardner – both with $5102.69 and team ropers Clay Ullery (Two Hills, AB) and heeler, Riley Warren (Stettler, AB) who garnered $4252.22 each from the four day event.

Overall Maple Leaf Circuit winners include: Ky Marshall (Bowden, AB – bareback), Ben Andersen (Eckville, AB – saddle bronc), Kyle Brown (Didsbury, AB – bull riding), Layne Delemont (Chauvin, AB – steer wrestling), Keely and Logan Bonnett (Ponoka, AB – team roping), Blair Smith (Wimborne, AB – tie-down roping) and Brooke Wills (barrel racing).
In addition to having their money count for the 2020 Pro Rodeo Canada season, all of the Finals Champions, along with the overall Maple Leaf Circuit winners, earn qualfications for the RAM National Circuit Finals April 2-4, 2020 in Kissimmee, FL.

For complete results, see

Next on the 2020 CPRA event roster are two bull ridings: Rebel Energy Bull Riding Jan 11 in Red Deer, AB and the first time High River Bull Buster slated for Jan 18 in High River, AB.

About the Canadian Professional Rodeo Association
The Canadian Professional Rodeo Association (CPRA) with headquarters in Airdrie, Alberta is the
sanctioning body for professional rodeo in Canada. The CPRA approves 55 events annually with a total payout exceeding $5.7 million. The organization holds their premiere event – the Canadian Finals Rodeo (CFR) – at Westerner Park in Red Deer, AB, November 3-8, 2020 and will oversee the Finning Pro Tour Finals September 6 in Armstrong, BC and the Maple Leaf Circuit Finals December 2-5 at Canadian Western Agribition in Regina, SK. Follow the CPRA on Twitter and Instagram @prorodeocanada, ‘Like’ Canadian Professional Rodeo Association on Facebook or online at

Courtesy of CPRA