Davi Henrique de Lima Wins First Career Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour Event in Dayton

By: Easton Colvin

DAYTON, Ohio – In the PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) final Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour (PWVT) event of the 2021 regular season, Davi Henrique de Lima (Candido, Brazil) emerged victorious in Dayton, Ohio, for his first career PWVT event win.

A perfect 2-for-2 performance by the 32-year-old Brazilian earned the event win, which rocketed him inside the Top 30 of the tour standings heading into the Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour Finals on Oct. 30-31 in Las Vegas.

Starting off Saturday night with an 86-point ride aboard Dirt Track Dirty (Cornwell Bucking Bulls) in Round 1, Lima was tasked with Rocky Malcoma (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls) as he entered the championship round tied for second place.

Exploding from the chutes on the back of the brown bovine, Lima bested Rocky Malcoma for a round and event-winning 84 points.

Lima earned 40.5 world points for the victory and moved to the No. 62 spot in the PBR world standings.

Venn Johns (Bixby, Oklahoma) matched his career-best PWVT finish with a second-place effort thanks to a perfect 2-for-2 night of his own.

After finishing fourth in Round 1 with an 84-point trip on Lucky Strike (Cornwell Bucking Bulls), the 47-year-old followed up with an 82-point ride on Pneu-Dart’s Damage Goods (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls) in the championship round, finishing three points behind Lima.

The 26 world points earned were crucial for Johns, moving him to No. 40 in the PWVT standings, on the cusp of qualifying for the 2021 PWVT Finals in Las Vegas.

Brazilian turned Massachusetts resident Lucas Fideles Souza (Branstable, Massachusetts) was the winner of Round 1, turning in the highest score of the event thanks to his 87-point ride on Lever Action (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls).

Souza was unable to capitalize on his round win, bucking off Got It Handled (Mike Miller Buckings Bulls) in 3.85 seconds during the championship round, resulting in a third-place finish.

Souza earned 17 world points to move to No. 66 in the world standings.

2002 PBR World Champion Ednei Caminhas (Indaiatuba, Brazil) finished fourth in the event, following up a season-best third place finish last weekend in Wheeling, West Virginia.

Turning in an 86-point ride on Hooptie (Cornwell Bucking Bulls) in Round 1, Caminhas tied for second in the round.

Caminhas was unable to make the requisite 8 in the championship round, lasting just 2.35 seconds on Just Denim (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls).

The former World Champion earned 9.5 world points for the finish.

Rubens Barbosa (Iaciara, Brazil) rounded out the Top 5 in the Velocity Tour’s penultimate event.

The six-time PBR World Finals qualifier put together an 84.5-point trip on Chicken (Cornwell Bucking Bulls) in Round 1, but he was unable to hear the whistle in the championship round, bucking off Grave Robber (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls) in 6.41 seconds.

Barbosa earned five world points for his fifth-place finish.

The 2021 PWVT schedule wraps up at the South Point Hotel and Casino next weekend with the 2021 PWVT Finals Oct. 30-31.

Professional Bull Riders Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour
ZipRecruiter Rumble
Nutter Center, Dayton, Ohio
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Davi Henrique de Lima, 86-84-170.00-40.5 Points.
2. Venn Johns, 85-82-167.00-26 Points.
3. Lucas Fideles Souza, 87-0-87.00-17 Points.
4. Ednei Caminhas, 86-0-86.00-9.5 Points.
5. Rubens Barbosa, 84.5-0-84.50-5 Points.
6. Junio Quaresima, 84-0-84.00-4 Points.
7. Carlos Garcia, 83.5-0-83.50-1.5 Points.
(tie). Francisco Morales, 83.5-0-83.50-1.5 Points.
9. Lane Nobles, 82.5-0-82.50
(tie). D.J. Parker, 82.5-0-82.50
11. Grayson Cole, 82-0-82.00
Alvaro Aguilar Alvarez, 0-0-0.00
Cole Skender, 0-0-0.00
Bob Mitchell, 0-0-0.00
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0-0.00
Quentin Vaught, 0-0-0.00
Mason Moody, 0-0-0.00
Eli Byler, 0-0-0.00
Casey Coulter, 0-0-0.00
Dakota Eagleburger, 0-0-0.00
Eduardo de Oliveira, 0-0-0.00
Nate Hoey, 0-0-0.00
Allen Burkholder, 0-0-0.00
Joao Paulo Fernandes, 0-0-0.00
Josh Steele, 0-0-0.00
Matt Oliver, 0-0-0.00
Cody McCandless, 0-0-0.00
Eder Barbosa, 0-0-0.00
Dylan Madsen, 0-0-0.00
Alex Jenks, 0-0-0.00
Cole Trivette, 0-0-0.00
Perry Schrock, 0-0-0.00
Joseph Petersheim, 0-0-0.00
Matt Allgood, 0-0-0.00
Ty Timmons, 0-0-0.00
Christian Melgarejo, 0-0-0.00
Nic Lica, 0-0-0.00
Levi Hershberger, 0-0-0.00
Tristen Marshall, 0-0-0.00
Jared Avina, 0-0-0.00

Photo courtesy of Andre Silva/Bull Stock Media

© 2021 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.

Related Content