Florida Freedom’s Thiago Salgado Wins Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour Event in Knoxville, Tennessee

By: Kacie Albert

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. – In front of a raucous Saturday night crowd in Knoxville, Tennessee, Thiago Salgado (Navirai, Brazil) delivered a perfect 2-for-2 performance to win the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour’s Kubota PBR Knoxville inside Thompson-Boling Arena at Food City Center.

Salgado, who rides for the Florida Freedom in the separate PBR Teams league, got off to an electric start, winning Round 1 as he went the distance aboard Kapt’n Krunch (Young Cattle/Rocking A) for 86 points.

The reserved Brazilian’s dominance continued in the championship round when he posted a round-best 88-point ride on Whip (Richardson Land & Cattle Co.) to cement his event win.

Courtesy of the golden finish, Salgado collected 136 Velocity Global points in the race for the 2024 Velocity Tour Championship.

Andy Bohl (St. Cloud, Florida) parlayed his own 2-for-2 showing into a second-place finish.

Bohl first rode Lansky (Grin/Jacobson/McCoy Rodeo) for 80 points in Round 1 before topping Bomber (Davis Rodeo Ranch) for 74 points in the championship round. He left the Volunteer State having earned 72 Velocity Global points.

Third was Quincey McDonald (Ava, Missouri), netting 58 Velocity Global points.

McDonald delivered the sixth-best score of Round 1, riding Gulf Coast Gangster (Diamond L Cattle) for 66.5 points. He then climbed the event leaderboard, clinching the podium finish when he conquered 50 Shades (Young Cattle/Rocking A) for 80.5 points.

As the final rider to be a perfect 2-for-2, the Austin Gamblers’ Jean Fernandes Pereira (Crixas, Brazil) was fourth.

Pereira’s 63-point effort on Mr. Teaser (McCoy Rodeo/Rod Stevens) and 82.5-point trip on Mr. Wilson (Richardson Land & Cattle Co.) earned him 43 Velocity Global points.

Rounding out the Top 5 in fifth was 2002 PBR World Champion and New York Mavericks Assistant Coach Ednei Caminhas (Indaiatuba, Brazil).

After being tossed by Peterbilt (FPH Livestock/Sardelli) in a close 7.69 seconds in Round 1, Caminhas rebounded in resilient form in the championship round, converting on Johnny Rockey (Richardson Land & Cattle/Rick Carr/Gene Baker) for 87 points.

Camihas earned 35 Velocity Global points.

In the bull pen, Chopper (Richardson Land & Cattle/McCoy Richardson/Gene Baker) was crowned the Bull of the Event. Out in the championship round, the powerful animal athlete posted an unrivaled 44.5-point score for his 1.97 seconds of work against Adilson Junior (Salto de Pirapora, Brazil).

The PBR Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour will next travel to Bangor, Maine, on March 8-10 and Mobile, Alabama, on March 9.

Action for PBR Bangor at Cross Insurance Center begins at 8:00 p.m. EST on Friday, March 8, 7:00 p.m. EST on Saturday, March 9, and 2:00 p.m. EST on Sunday, March 10.

PBR Mobile will take over the Mobile Civic Center Arena on Saturday, March 9, at 7:00 p.m. CST.

PBR Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour
Kubota PBR Knoxville
Thompson-Boling Arena at Food City Center – Knoxville, Tennessee
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2- Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Thiago Salgado, 86-88-174.00-136 Points.
2. Andy Bohl, 80-74-154.00-72 Points.
3. Quincey McDonald, 66.5-80.5-147.00-58 Points.
4. Jean Fernandes Pereira, 63-82.5-145.50-43 Points.
5. Ednei Caminhas, 0-87-87.00-35 Points.
6. Dener Barbosa, 85.5-0-85.50-30 Points.
7. Dustin Herman, 83-0-83.00-22 Points.
(tie). Flavio Zivieri, 83-0-83.00-22 Points.
Marco Rizzo, 0-0-0.00
Kyler Oliver, 0-0-0.00
Brandon Chambers, 0-0-0.00
Daniel Keeping, 0-0-0.00
Kyle Eaton, 0-0-0.00
Thor Hoefer II, 0-0-0.00
Justin Ethridge, 0-0-0.00
Bruno Carvalho, 0-0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0.00
Andrew Alvidrez, 0-0-0.00
Dylan Smith, 0-0-0.00
Trace Redd, 0-0-0.00
Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-0-0.00
Max Castro, 0-0-0.00
Dustin Martinez, 0-0-0.00
Marcos Gloria, 0-0-0.00
Guilherme Valleiras, 0-0-0.00
Cole Devlin, 0-0-0.00
Jason Landing, 0-0-0.00
Colton Dougherty, 0-0-0.00
João Henrique Lucas, 0-0-0.00
Lucas Fideles Souza, 0-0-0.00
Cleber Henrique Marques, 0-0-0.00
Adilson Junior, 0-0-0.00
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0-0.00
Brylee Smith, 0-0-0.00
Alvaro Ariel, 0-0-0.00

Photo courtesy of Andre Silva/Bull Stock Media

© 2024 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.

Related Content