For the Record: Clovis

As one of the Top 10, highest-paying rodeos of the regular season, Rodeo Clovis (Calif.) has witnessed some of ProRodeo’s best competitors at the top of their game.

Only the best make the rodeo record book, and cowboys will have a chance to make Clovis history while claiming their share of the prize money on April 27-29.

Although this is Rodeo Clovis’ 104th annual competition, the ProRodeo records only go as far back as 1951. The following are the best scores and times from 1951 through 2017.

Rodeo Clovis’ biggest payout was $281,292 in 2016.

Rhen Richards set the record for most money won in all-around with $9,554 in 2015.

Two bareback riders share the record of 89 points. Will Lowe set the record in 2005 on his way to also setting the two-head average record of 171 points that year. Jake Brown matched Lowe’s 89-point record in 2016.

Steer wrestler John W. Jones Jr.’s record turns 20 years old this year. In 1998, Jones clocked in at 3.3 seconds. Wade Sumpter set the four-head average record of 18.3 seconds in 2012.

Team ropers Spencer Mitchell and Justin Wade Davis set the record of 4.2 seconds in 2016. The four-run average record of 23.2 seconds was set in 2014 by Clay Tryan and Jade Corkill.

Saddle bronc rider Jacobs Crawley set the record of 92 points in 2015. Cody Horwedel set the two-head average record of 175 points in 2007.

Tie-down roper Fred Whitfield has owned the record of 7.1 seconds since 2005. The four-run average record of 32.4 seconds was set by Hunter Herrin in 2013.

Barrel racer Liz Combs set the record of 16.13 seconds in 2014.

Bull rider Rodney Lidgard set two records in 1993. First, he made a 92-point record ride, which helped him set the two-head average record with 181 points.

Check back with after Rodeo Clovis concludes to find out who won and if any arena records were broken.

Courtesy of PRCA