Jesse Wins Second Night of Slick Rock Challenge to Move Up to No. 6 in the World Standings

By: Justin Felisko

PUEBLO, Colo. – Colten Jesse used his second victory in the last three years at the annual Slick Rock Challenge in Rocksprings, Texas, on Saturday night to move up to No. 6 in the world standings.

Jesse’s 87.5-point ride on Walkin Tall was enough for the 23-year-old to win the second night of competition in Rocksprings, Texas, this weekend at the Edwards County Fairgrounds.

There were eight qualified rides on Saturday night.

Rounding out the Top 5 was Paulo Lima (85.5 points on Sancho), Luciano de Castro (85.5 points on Big Mac), Eli Vastbinder (85 points on Stryker) and Alecio Ferreira da Costa (83 points on Calico Kickin).

Jesse was recently featured on the Player’s Tribune and its series “What The (Blank)?” Just like on the first day of elementary school, the Player’s Tribune ask athletes to answer a few questions about themselves so readers can get to know them better.

The Monster Energy Team Challenge, presented by U.S. Border Patrol, has been going on throughout the month of June, and Team Las Vegas rider Chase Dougherty went 1-for-2 in Rocksprings Saturday night for a sixth-place finish.

Dougherty rode Prince Harry for 82 points.

Team Las Vegas finished second in Division A competition at the METC, and will be competing in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, on July 10-12 on Championship Weekend.

Dougherty and Team Las Vegas are slated to ride on July 10 against a TBD team at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center.

Professional Bull Riders – Slick Rock Challenge Day 2
Rocksprings, TX, 2020
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Colten Jesse, 87.5-0-87.50-15 Points.
2. Paulo Ferreira Lima, 85.5-0-85.50-7.5 Points.
(tie). Luciano De Castro, 85.5-0-85.50-7.5 Points.
4. Eli Vastbinder, 85-0-85.00-4 Points.
5. Alecio Ferreira da Costa, 83-0-83.00-3 Points.
6. Chase Dougherty, 82-0-82.00-2 Points.
7. Silvano Alves, 81.5-0-81.50-1 Points.
8. Leonardo Lima, 80.5-0-80.50
Jose Vitor Leme, 0-0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0.00
Mauricio Gula Moreira, 0-0-0.00
Brennon Eldred, 0-0-0.00
Cody Casper, 0-0-0.00
Marcus Mast, 0-0-0.00
Rafael Henrique dos Santos, 0-0-0.00
Dakota Louis, 0-0-0.00
Keith Hall, 0-0-0.00
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0-0.00
Hunter Ball, 0-0-0.00
Garrion Hull, 0-0-0.00
Austin Covington, 0-0-0.00
Andre de Souza Cruz, 0-0-0.00
James Harper, 0-0-0.00
Eli Miller, 0-0-0.00
Chance Lopez, 0-0-0.00
Lamar Lehman, 0-0-0.00
J.T. Pettitt, 0-0-0.00
Luis Blanco, 0-0-0.00
Ricky Aguiar, 0-0-0.00
Wyatt Covington, 0-0-0.00
Cole Trivette, 0-0-0.00
Chase Outlaw, 0-0-0.00
Bryan Titman, 0-0-0.00
Dustin Ratchford, 0-0-0.00
Winston Lopez, 0-0-0.00
Dugan Black, 0-0-0.00
Levi Schmucker, 0-0-0.00
Garfield Wilson, 0-0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0-0.00
Gus Rodriguez Jr., 0-0-0.00

Follow Justin Felisko on Twitter @jfelisko

© 2020 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.

Related Content