Buttar Wins Round 1 of Portland BlueDEF Tour Event

By: Heather Croze
October 21, 2016

Dakota Buttar is leading the Portland, Ore., BlueDEF Tour event. Photo: Andre Silva

Dakota Buttar is leading the Portland, Ore., BlueDEF Tour event. Photo: Andre Silva

PORTLAND, Maine – In front of an energized crowd, who might have been seeing PBR (Professional Bull Riders) for the first time in Portland, Saskatchewan native Dakota Buttar (Kindersley) picked up the Round 1 victory during the first night of the BlueDEF Tour (BDT) event at Cross Insurance Arena on Friday night.

Buttar, the reigning two-time Canadian Pro Rodeo Association champion earned the Round 1 win with an 87-point ride on Hicktown (Triple R Bull Co.)

Justin Lloyd (Tisdale, Saskatchewan) took second place with 86 points aboard Splinter (Buckin’ B Cattle Company).

Six riders all tallied ride scores of 85 points to tie for third place. They include Brandon Davis (Lodi, Ohio) on Turbo (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls), Dallee Mason (Weiser, Idaho) on Fletching (Cornwell Bucking Bulls), Kade Alberty (Beggs, Oklahoma) on Universal Media’s Brandon’s Pet (Painted Pony Championship Pony), Michael Lane (North Tazewell, Virginia) on One Eyed Ghost (Buckin’ B Cattle Company), Jay Miller (Liberty, South Carolina) on Tex I o (Buckin’ B Cattle Company) and Emilio Resende (Santa Helena do Goias, Brazil) on Blue Canyon (Smith/Harper/Robertson/PPCR).

The BlueDEF Tour in Portland will continue tomorrow night with Round 2 and the championship round at 7 p.m. ET. Fans can watch all the action from Portland on PBR LIVE, which is available at no charge to all fans and media. Visit to view.

Fans can also watch all of the action via the PBR LIVE app, which is available for download on Google Play and iTunes.

Oct. 21 – Portland, Maine
Round 1 Results (Round 1-Aggregate Score-Earnings)
1. Dakota Buttar 87-87-$800.00
2. Justin Lloyd 86-$600.00
3. Brandon Davis 85-$100.00
3. Dallee Mason 85-$100.00
3. Kade Alberty 85-$100.00
3. Michael Lane 85-$100.00
3. Jay Miller 85-$100.00
3. Emilio Resende 85-$100.00
9. Justin Paton 83-$0
10. Nic Lica 81-$0
11. Robson Aragao 80-$0
12.Keyshawn Whitehorse 73.5-$0

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.