Davis Wins 15/15 Bucking Battle; Cuts into Pacheco’s Lead

By: Mandi McCary
October 15, 2016

Cooper Davis trails current world leader Kaique Pacheco by 300.33 points. Photo: Andy Watson /

Cooper Davis trails current world leader Kaique Pacheco by 300.33 points. Photo: Andy Watson /

SAN JOSE, Calif. – The 2015 PBR World Finals event winner Cooper Davis (Jasper, Texas) cut into Kaique Pacheco’s (Itatiba, Brazil) PBR world standings lead after winning the 15/15 Bucking Battle at the San Jose Invitational, presented by Ariat, Saturday night at SAP Center.

Davis earned the win with an 89.5-point ride on Big Cat (Dakota Rodeo/Berger/Struve) and took home 150 world points cutting Pacheco’s lead to 300.33 points.

Two-time and reigning PBR World Champion J.B. Mauney (Statesville, North Carolina) also closed the distance between himself and Pacheco after tying with Tanner Byrne (Prince Albert, SK, Canada) for the Round 1 victory earlier in the evening. Mauney rode Blowing Smoke (Humpz & Hornz) for 86 points, while Byrne rode Redneck (JK Bull Riding Productions). The pair each earned 80 points toward the world standings.

Mauney, the No. 3 ranked rider in the world standings, trails Pacheco by 620.33 points.

Stetson Lawrence (Williston, North Dakota) finished in third place in Round 1 after a 85.25-point ride on El Capitan (Humpz & Hornz). Lawrence earned 50 world points for the finish.

Davis also placed fourth in Round 1 for an additional 40 points toward the world standings after an 84.75-point ride on Kylie (K&K Ranch). Davis has ridden five of his last six bulls attempted.

Robson Palermo (Rio Branco Acre, Brazil) rounded out the Top 5 in Round 1 after an 84.5-point ride on Mr. Bull (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls). Palermo earned 30 world points for the finish and is currently ranked 17th in the world standings.

The Top 35 bull riders in the world will return Sunday afternoon for the conclusion of the San Jose Invitational, presented by Ariat. Each rider will face one more bull in Round 2 before the Top 15 move on to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round where the winner will be crowned.

You can watch Round 2 on PBR LIVE starting at 4:30 p.m. ET. CBS also will broadcast the 15/15 Bucking Battle Sunday afternoon at 3 or 5 p.m. ET (Check your local listings). Lastly, CBS Sports Network will broadcast Round 2 and the championship round Sunday night at 6 p.m. ET.

PBR Digital Editor Kristian Limas contributed to this report. 

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
San Jose Invitational, presented by Ariat, 15/15 Bucking Battle
SAP Center, San Jose, California
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Cooper Davis, 89.5-89.50-150 Points.
2. Guilherme Marchi, 85.5-85.50-90 Points.
3. Paulo Ferreira Lima, 84.5-84.50-75 Points.
4. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 83.75-83.75-60 Points.
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0.00
J.B. Mauney, 0-0.00
Jess Lockwood, 0-0.00
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0.00
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0.00
Robson Palermo, 0-0.00

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
San Jose Invitational, presented by Ariat
SAP Center, San Jose, California
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. J.B. Mauney, 86-0-0-86.00-80 Points.
(tie). Tanner Byrne, 86-0-0-86.00-80 Points.
3. Stetson Lawrence, 85.25-0-0-85.25-50 Points.
4. Cooper Davis, 84.75-0-0-84.75-40 Points.
5. Robson Palermo, 84.5-0-0-84.50-30 Points.
6. Gage Gay, 84.25-0-0-84.25-15 Points.
7. Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 83.75-0-0-83.75-5 Points.
8. Ryan Dirteater, 83.5-0-0-83.50
(tie). Guilherme Marchi, 83.5-0-0-83.50
10. Stormy Wing, 82.75-0-0-82.75
(tie). Chase Outlaw, 82.75-0-0-82.75
12. Jess Lockwood, 82.25-0-0-82.25
(tie). Matt Triplett, 82.25-0-0-82.25
14. Silvano Alves, 81.75-0-0-81.75
15. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 80.75-0-0-80.75
16. Eduardo Aparecido, 80-0-0-80.00
17. Tyler Harr, 77.5-0-0-77.50
18. Valdiron de Oliveira, 71-0-0-71.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0-0-0.00
Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-0-0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0-0.00
Mason Lowe, 0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0-0-0.00
Ben Jones, 0-0-0-0.00
Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0-0-0.00
Aaron Roy, 0-0-0-0.00
Luis Blanco, 0-0-0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0-0-0.00
Nevada Newman, 0-0-0-0.00
Jorge Valdiviezo, 0-0-0-0.00
Nathan Schaper, 0-0-0-0.00
Keyshawn Whitehorse, 0-0-0-0.00

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.