Eight Go For 8 at Lufkin CBR Bull Bash

Photo Credit: James Phifer

CBR riders and contractors have been burning the highways this season and last night Lufkin, Texas, got to see a packed house and some sensational rides. Big Tex Agriplex was the title sponsor, one of many in the community who welcomed the CBR for the 29th year of the Lufkin Bull Bash.

A total of 32 riders from 11 states tried their hand at the George Henderson Expo Center and only eight cowboys that entered the arena made full eight-second, qualified rides in the opening round. The long round consisted of 3 sections, ultimately advancing 15 riders based on scores and time to the championship round.

The bull named Dirty Little Secret gave Braden Richardson of Jasper, TX, a run for his money and he battled it out to score 89 points and claim the first-place spot. This is the first CBR Road to Cheyenne event title for the East Texas native.

CBR elected to have 15 bull team franchise owners participate in the competition, each providing three bulls to equal the 45 bulls needed for both rounds. This format change from previous Road to Cheyenne Bull Team Challenge events resulted from CBR’s new Chute Boss, Mike White listening to the concerns and preferences from riders.

This adjustment allowed for 3 additional teams to compete with an increase in CBR’s bull team payout.

High Marked Bull of the Event was a tie of 88 between Long Creek Outfitters / Harris Bucking Bulls’ Rising Son and Whacked Out of Sellers Bucking Bulls / UTC / GEM.

Long Creek Outfitters / Harris received first place in the bull team competition with a check of $23,000.00.

The next stop on the CBR tour is Salina, KS, March 24, 2018. The tour concludes at the Cheyenne Frontier Days in July 2018, with a World Finals and $100,000 bonus to the Tour Champion.

Results from 2018 Big Tex Agriplex CBR Bull Bash, Saturday, February 17, 2018 listed below —

Long Round – 3 Sections: 1, Braden Richardson, Jasper, TX, 89 points on Dirty Little Secret of Long Creek Outfitters/ Harris. 2, Aaron Pass, Kaufman, TX, 87 points on Top Line of Shaw’s Cattle Co./ Bob Whisnant. 3, Lane Toon, Smithville, OK, 86.5 points on Blind Spot of CPR/Cude Bucking Bulls. 4, Brett Custer, Elk City, OK, 86 points on Trump Train of Barrett/Willis #2. 5, Trey Holston, Fort Scott, KS, 86 points on Speckled Pup of Clarkview Farms. 6, Tyler Taylor of Stephenville, TX, 85.5 points on Hou Did He Buck of Bob Whisnant/Johnston. 7, John Pitts, Panama City Beach, FL, 85.5 points on Carbine of Rockin R Bucking Bulls. 7, Matt Palmer, Chelsea, OK, 83.5 points on War Tiger of D4 Cattle Co.

Short Round: No qualified rides.

Average Results

1, Braden Richardson, 89 points, $10,800.00. 2, Aaron Pass, 87 points, $8,500.00. 3. Lane Toon, 86.5 points, $5,300.00. 4, Brett Custer, 86 points, $3,200.00.

Round by round scoring available on

Bull Team Results

1, Long Creek Outfitters, 273.63, $23,000.00. 2, Bob Whisnant/ The Johnstons, 271.46, $14,000.00. 3, Sellers Bucking Bulls/ UTC, 271.41, $9,000.00. 4, Winston Loe/ Melton Bull Co, 269.51, $6,000.00. 5, Championship Pro Rodeo/ Cude Bucking Bulls, 269.20, $4,250.00.

For more information contact CBR office. Follow CBR on social media Facebook – Championship Bull Riding, @cbrbull on Instagram and Twitter.

Courtesy of CBR