Game Notes: Last Cowboy Standing

By: Jordan Marie Johnson May 09, 2014@ 08:00:00 AM

Silvano Alves is a two-time Last Cowboy Standing champion. Photo by Andy Watson /

VIVA LAS VEGAS – This week, the Built Ford Tough Series will make its first of two stops in Las Vegas this season as it returns to the Mandalay Bay Events Center for the fourth annual Last Cowboy Standing. The competition begins at 8 p.m. on Friday, May 9, and 6 p.m. on Saturday, May 10.

UP NEXT – The Built Ford Tough Series will take its annual summer break following The Last Cowboy Standing. The BFTS resumes on Aug. 15-16 in Tulsa, Oklahoma, for the Express Employment Professionals Classic at the BOK Center.

PAST LAST COWBOY STANDING EVENT WINNERS – Two-time PBR World Champion Silvano Alves has won the Last Cowboy Standing title the last two years in a row. Luke Snyder won the inaugural LCS in front of a sold-out crowd at Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas in 2011.

FORMAT – The Last Cowboy Standing is a progressive-elimination format competition. Each of the Top 50 bull riders in the world will ride one bull in Round 1. The Top 25 riders who reach 8 seconds will advance to the next round, where they will each ride another bull. If there are not enough riders who successfully cover their bulls in the first round, riders will be selected by the current standings as of this week until the field of 25 is full. The elimination format continues until there is only one cowboy left. There will be a maximum of five rounds. The total purse is more than $170,000 with the winner taking home $100,000.


Jan. 25 in Oklahoma City, Okla. ~ Marco Eguchi won with a 90.75-point ride on Rango.
Feb. 8 in Anaheim, Calif. ~ Joao Ricardo Vieira won with a 90.75-point ride on Shepherd Hills Stockman.
March 28 in Fresno, Calif. ~ Alves won with an 89.5-point ride on Rango.
April 4 in Boise, Idaho ~ Fabiano Vieira won with an 89.25-point ride on Cowtown Slinger.
April 11 in Billings, Mont. ~ Gage Gay won with a 91.50-point ride on Percolator.
May 3 in Colorado Springs, Colo. ~ Guilherme Marchi won with an 89.5-point ride on Wicked.

POSSIBLE POINTS – There are a maximum of 1,400 possible points available during Last Cowboy Standing. The winner of each round will receive 100 points plus the ride score with a maximum of five rounds. The event winner will receive 400 points.

PROVIDING PROTECTION – The Dickies® Bullfighters this weekend are Jesse Byrne of Okotoks, Alberta; Shorty Gorham of Cotulla, Texas; and Frank Newsom of Paoli, Okla.

TELEVISION BROADCAST – CBS Sports Network will carry Round 1of the Last Cowboy Standing live Friday, May 9, at 11 p.m. ET. The finals rounds will be broadcast on CBS Network Television on Sunday, May 11, at 4 p.m. ET.

The broadcast will have Craig Hummer providing play-by-play, color commentary from Ty Murray and Justin McBride, while dirt-level interviews will be handled by Leah Garcia.

BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR by David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer and creative lead.

Click HERE for the rest of this weekend’s game notes.

© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.