News and Notes from the Rodeo Trail, May 16

by | May 16, 2016

[PHOTO: Clay Carr]

[PHOTO: Clay Carr]

California Rodeo Salinas has announced its five-member 2016 Hall of Fame class. It is comprised of contestants Clay Carr and Perry Ivory, committee members Walt Cameron and J. Michael Storm and notable Julius G. Trescony. Carr was the first triple crown winner in PRCA history, as he took the world titles in all-around, saddle bronc riding and steer roping in 1930. He also won the all-around gold buckle in 1933 and the steer roping in 1940, before passing away in 1957. Ivory won nine California Rodeo Salinas championships in various events over a span of 10 years. He won the bull riding in 1922, both the bull riding and saddle bronc riding in 1926, 1929 and 1930, and saddle bronc riding in 1931. Ivory passed away in 1983. Cameron, who passed away in 2004, was named director of the rodeo in 1972, was awarded the Gold Saddleman Award in 1985, became vice president in 1988 and served as president from 1992-93. Storm, who passed away in 2010, was director of concessions, served as president of the rodeo in 1996-97 and was awarded the Gold Saddleman Award in 1998. Trescony, who died in 1982, went to every California Rodeo Salinas from 1911 until the year he died. The 2016 induction ceremony and luncheon will take place July 21 at 11:30 a.m. on the Mike Storm Director’s Patio at the Salinas Sports Complex.

Pro Rodeo Live will be broadcasting the Wrangler Champions Challenge presented by Justin Boots May 21 from Redding, Calif. Coverage starts at 7 p.m. (PT) at

The Pendleton (Ore.) Round-Up and Happy Canyon Hall of Fame has announced their 2016 inductees. J.D. Yates, who competed at the WNFR 21 times as a team roper, and also qualified 10 times for the Clem McSpadden National Finals Steer Roping, is the contestant inductee. He won four titles at the Round-Up during his career. Doug and the late Heather Corey are the 2016 Round-Up volunteer inductees. Doug, who continues to serve both the Round-Up and Happy Canyon, is one of only five men who has served as president on both the Round-Up and Happy Canyon boards. Heather was the Round-Up queen in 1974, and the first female on the Round-Up Board of Directors, ending a 100-year tradition of all male directors. She passed away in 2012. The other inductees include Chief Bill Burke in the native American category and a 32-year-old gelding named Smokey, who has been a part of many aspects of the rodeo over the years, in the animal category.

Kelly Wardell, a four-time NFR qualifier in bareback riding who has also served on the PRCA Board of Directors, is one of five 2016 inductees into the Idaho Rodeo Hall of Fame. The other inductees are Deanne Bell, Earl E. (Tim) Bouscal, LeRoy A. Hess and L. Wardell Larson. The ceremony will take place in Twin Falls June 4.

The Cal Poly rodeo team has received a $1 million endowment to benefit the team. Mark and Jessie Milano provided the gift, the largest ever for the program. The donation increases the program’s scholarship offerings to $80,000 in 2016-17, a jump from the $16,000 in scholarships awarded in 2015-16.

Claremore (Okla.) City Manager Jim Thomas has been named the grand marshal at this year’s Will Rogers Stampede parade, which takes place May 28 at 10 a.m. “It’s kind of humbling,” Thomas said. “I’m going to wear my cowboy hat and my boots. I’m not a cowboy, but I’m a cowboy at heart. It’s a nice honor, and I appreciate them extending the invitation to me.” This is the 70th anniversary of the Will Rogers Stampede, and the parade will celebrate its two straight titles for PRCA’s Small Rodeo of the Year.

I never even imagined making the ProRodeo Hall of Fame, but crazy (stuff) can happen when you’re too dumb to know you can’t do something and all you do is try.

-2016 ProRodeo Hall of Fame inductee Dave Appleton

Courtesy of PRCA