PRCA for the Record: Stephenville

The Cowboy Capital of the World PRCA Rodeo is riding into the second half of its first century of competition with its 51st ProRodeo event, and cowboys are eager to strike gold at one of the final competitions of the regular season.

Stephenville, Texas, is home to more PRCA cowboys per square foot than anywhere else in the world (according to the Stephenville Chamber of Commerce). The rodeo was already well established before becoming PRCA-sanctioned in 1970. Since, records have been set and broken as cowboys have raced to the finish line of the regular season in hopes of qualifying for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo.

Last season, Oklahoma team ropers Cale Markham and Brye Crites made Stephenville’s 50th rodeo one for the record book when they made a 3.6-second run. Stephenville’s previous team roping record was 3.7 seconds, set by Luke Brown and Martin Lucero in 2011.

In addition to their Stephenville win, Markham and Crites won or shared the win at five other ProRodeo competitions in 2019:

• The Kaw Valley Rodeo in Manhattan, Kan.
• The Cattlemen Days Rodeo in Ashland, Mo.
• The Oregon Trail Rodeo in Hastings, Neb.
Abbyville (Kan.) Frontier Days (tied with Nick Becker/Dawson McMaster)
• The Cedar County Rodeo in Hartington, Neb. (tied with Alfred Hansen/Levi Tyan)

Although they’re no longer partners, Markham, 29, and Crites, 26, have continued their winning ways. Markham returned to Abbyville for a repeat win in July with Cody Doescher as his partner.

Crites is 22nd in the 2020 PRCA | RAM World Standings and is competing alongside header Jake Orman. The duo have won five ProRodeo competitions this season.

ProRodeo athletes will have a shot at breaking Markham and Crites’ record, and the rest, Sept. 25-27. Crites is entered to compete in Stephenville alongside Orman on Sunday.

Fans can catch all the Stephenville action on the PRCA on Cowboy Channel Plus app Sept. 25-26 at 8 p.m. (ET) and Sept. 27 at 3 p.m.

Rodeo Records

Total payout: $142,540, 2016
All-around: $6,797, Trevor Brazile, 2001
Bareback riding: 91 points, Steven Dent, 2014
Steer wrestling: 3.0 seconds Bray Armes, 2015
Team roping: 3.6 seconds, Cale Markham/Brye Crites, 2019
Saddle bronc riding: 88 points, Heith DeMoss, 2017
Tie-down roping: 7.2 seconds, Marty Yates, 2018
Barrel racing: 14.59 seconds, Cassie Moseley, 2011
Steer roping: 8.6 seconds, Trevor Brazile, 2008
Bull riding: 91 points, B.J. Schumacher, 2003; Cory McFadden, 2005; J.W. Harris, 2008

Courtesy of PRCA

Related Content